In observance of Independence Day, our branches and Member Contact Center will be closed on Saturday, 4th of July, 2020.
About Us

Our Mission

To provide our members with access to affordable credit union products and services, enabling them to improve their overall financial health.

What We Believe

At River City, our core values complement our mission and vision, providing a solid foundation that guides the service we provide our members on a daily basis. Each of these values is an integral part of who we are as a credit union and how we serve our local community.

  • Integrity
  • Ethics
  • Teamwork
  • Member Focus
  • Community
  • Good Stewardship

 Who We Are

At River City FCU, our members aren’t just owners; they are family.  We care about the success of our members and want to help them manage their finances no matter where they are.

For 82 years, we’ve grown to help you. At each of our locations, we foster a sense of family and teamwork, so our members feel the same sense of pride we do in being a part of our River City. You are the foundation of who we are, our mission, vision and values, and your family.

Our membership is extended to people who live, work, worship or attend school in Bexar County. River City FCU is regulated by the National Credit Union Administration, an agency of the U.S. Government.  This includes all members of record of this credit union as of November 20, 2006, the date of its conversion to a community charter; employees of this credit union; spouses of persons who died while within the field of membership of this credit union; and members of their immediate families.


River City FCU is a Community Development Financial Institution

In August 2016, River City FCU was certified by the U.S. Department of the Treasury as a Community Development Financial Institution (CDFI). CDFIs are mission-driven financial institutions that are dedicated to providing financial services to meet the needs of economically disadvantaged individuals within underserved communities. CDFIs invest in the these individuals by providing critically needed financial services often unavailable from other financial institutions. As a CDFI, River City FCU is recognized for having a primary mission of promoting community development, serving an underserved market, and providing appropriate financial products and services.  River City FCU seeks to leverage CDFI certification to provide adequate access to affordable financial products and services.

View our Annual Reports.



River City was first chartered by ten telephone company employees under the name San Antonio Telephone Employees Federal Credit Union. The founding co-op members volunteered their time to foster a common dream of financial success and security.

Since its inception in 1936, River City has grown to five strategically placed branches throughout the city of San Antonio, and with shared branches nationwide. Our members are just like you; they live, work, worship or attend school in the great Bexar County.

  • 2019 – Southwest Military Branch at Pleasanton Pointe Plaza opens
  • 2019 – Jeff Ivey, President/CEO, hired
  • 2016 – Awarded Community Development Financial Institution designation (US Treasury Department)
  • 2012 – Opened fourth in-store branch at 9238 N. Loop 1604 W. & Bandera Rd. (inside H-E-B)
  • 2012 – Awarded “Juntos Avanzamos” (Together We Advance) designation (Cornerstone Credit Union League)
  • 2011 – Opened third in-store branch at 5910 Babcock (inside H-E-B)
  • 2011 – Opened second in-store branch at 20725 Hwy 46 (inside H-E-B Plus) in Spring Branch, TX
  • 2010 – Opened first in-store branch at 2929 Thousand Oaks (inside H-E-B)
  • 2010 – Merger completed with Southeast Community Credit Union; Fairlawn Branch opened at 7131 Fairlawn
  • 2009 – Member Service Center was established to assist members by phone
  • 2009 – Kim L. Heinze, President/CEO, hired
  • 2006 – Field of membership expanded to Bexar County
  • 2005 – Reached $100 million in assets
  • 2002 – Name changed to River City Federal Credit Union
  • 2001 – Field of membership expanded to include the community inside Loop 410
  • 1996 – North Office relocated to permanent facility at 825 Jackson Keller
  • 1993 – Downtown Office relocated to 610 Augusta
  • 1990 – Second branch opened at 4119 Broadway (inside the AT&T building)
  • 1986 – Watt Prichard, President/CEO, hired
  • 1979 – First branch office opened on the Northside of San Antonio
  • 1975 – Second general manager, Jack Kile, hired
  • 1960 – First office built at 202 Baltimore
  • 1946 – Offices rented at the Insurance Building and first general manager, Roger Siddall, hired
  • 1936 – Charter approved by the Governor of the Farm Credit Administration


Board of Directors

  • Kevin Rasco, Chair
  • William Bruce Ashton, Vice Chair
  • Joe Diaz, Jr., Secretary/Treasurer
  • Elia Carmona
  • Glen A. Glass
  • Stephen S. Skloss
  • Gail Ribalta


Supervisory Committee

  • Elia Carmona, Chair
  • Eric Kaalund
  • Iris Ramos
  • Jeannette C. Carnevale

Leadership Team

  • Jeff Ivey, President/CEO
  • Michael Quintanilla, Vice President/Chief Financial Officer/Chief Operating Officer
  • Carrie Geyer, Vice President/Chief Member Experience Officer 
  • Debra Hill, Director Compliance/Risk


Branch Management

  • Mike Sanchez, Jr. – Retail Sales and Service Manager
  • Andrew Rios – Branch Manager, Jackson Keller and Southwest
  • Dennis Villanueva – Branch Manager, Augusta
  • Jaclyn Castillo – Branch Manager, Babcock
Open an Account Apply for Loan